In the News

Creation of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards

June 9, 2015

OTTAWA — Today, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced the creation of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards. These new awards, overseen by the Office of the Governor General, will recognize and celebrate outstanding Canadian individuals, teams and organizations —those trailblazers and creators who contribute to our country’s success and who help shape our future.

“Innovation is one of the primary driving forces behind Canada’s prosperity and quality of life. Increasing productivity through the creation of new products and services, improving public sector performance, and building an inclusive, compassionate society are the keys to Canada’s success,” said the Governor General. “While Canadians are some of the world’s most accomplished innovators, we seldom recognize ourselves as such or celebrate our outstanding contributions to our society and to humanity as a whole. By recognizing our great innovators, including those of the next generation, we will strengthen the culture of innovation that is crucial to our nation.”

The approach to these awards is also innovative, and benefits from the close collaboration of private-sector leaders, public institutions and social innovators. The Canada Foundation for Innovation will manage the adjudication process, drawing on the knowledge and expertise of some of our most highly accomplished Canadians. Public education and outreach will be supported by the Canadian Science and Technology Museums Corporation, which will showcase and promote Canada’s stories. The Rideau Hall Foundation will gather and align resources from philanthropic and corporate sectors. Nominations will be sought through a national network of organizations that currently deliver innovation-related awards or work to support and promote innovation across Canada.

Over the coming months, the Office of the Governor General will set the awards program in motion. The inaugural awards ceremony will be held in 2016. For more information, please visit

Close mobile menu

What are you looking for?