Language

Call for Nominations

Nomination Process

Please read these important considerations before submitting a nomination.

Nominations are sought through a national network of organizations that have been designated as nominating partners by the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General. Each nominating partner must designate an official contact person to submit nominations. Nominations will only be accepted from the nominating partners via their official contact person.

While nominating partners are not limited in the number of nominations they can submit, they are encouraged to be highly selective, and only put forward nominations that meet the objectives of the awards program while satisfying all of the selection criteria.

Please note that the 2017 nomination period is now closed.

To submit a nomination, the officially designated nominating partner contact person must complete the online nomination form.

The following information will be requested in the nomination form:

  • The name, address, email, phone number, job position and birth year of the nominee (or official representative in the case the nomination is for a team and/or organization), as well as the name, address and phone number of the nominating partner contact person, for correspondence purposes.
  • A summary statement explaining the nature, significance and impact of the nominee’s innovation or innovative activities (maximum 1500 characters, including spaces).
  • Specific evidence of how the nomination addresses each of the four selection criteria (maximum of 2000 characters, including spaces, for each of the four criteria).

Important Considerations

  • Nominees must be living Canadian citizens or permanent residents. Posthumous nominations are not eligible.
  • In the case where a nominee is identified as a young innovator, he or she must be 30 years of age or younger as of the nomination deadline (November 15).
  • Failure to appropriately address all selection criteria or to provide supporting evidence will weaken the nomination.
  • Since the Assessment and Selection committees are multidisciplinary, the nomination material should be written for non-specialists.
  • The awards are given for current or recent innovations that have a positive impact on the quality of life in Canada, whether it is in the private, public or not-for-profit realms. They are not intended for lifetime achievement or innovations that have not yet demonstrated impact.
  • By completing the signature block of the online form, the nominating partner will acknowledge that they have received authorization from the nominees to be recommended for the award.
  • Nominees can only be nominated once by one of the nominating partners.
  • To respect privacy, nominations are not made public.

Selection Process

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are

  • Truly exceptional;
  • Transformative; and,
  • Positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

The awards are given for current or recent innovations that have a positive impact on the quality of life in Canada, whether it is in the private, public or not-for-profit realms. They are not intended for lifetime achievement or innovations that have not yet demonstrated impact.

Nominees can be at any stage in their life or career. Our aim is to have at least one young innovator among the winners who is 30 years of age or younger and who, individually or as leader of a team and/or organization, has been undertaking exceptional, transformative and innovative activities.

Selection Criteria

In addition to being assessed on whether they are truly exceptional, transformative and are having a positive impact on society, nominees will be assessed on the basis of the following four specific selection criteria:

  • Extent to which the individual, team or organization has shown initiative and leadership to be agents of change in addressing a current issue about which they are passionate.
  • Creative use of new knowledge and/or technology to develop ideas aimed at addressing contemporary social, economic or cultural challenges and solving real-world problems.
  • Evidence of the successful implementation of these ideas, resulting in a positive impact beyond the nominee's own community or organization.
  • The degree to which the nominee and the activities undertaken have demonstrated inspiration, creativity, collaboration, risk-taking and problem solving.

Selection of Award Winners

All eligible nominations are received by the Canada Foundation for Innovation and undergo a two-stage merit-review selection process involving an Assessment Committee and a Selection Committee.

The Assessment Committee members are recruited for their knowledge in private, public and social innovation. By thoroughly examining each nomination, the committee determines to what degree the nominees meet the specific selection criteria. The committee members then identify up to 20 top nominations from all those submitted by the nominating partners. This group of nominees is recommended to the Selection Committee as finalists for the Governor General’s Innovation Awards.

The Selection Committee is composed of distinguished individuals chosen for their expertise in and breadth of understanding of the innovation ecosystem. The committee members examine the list of finalists and select up to six award winners whose work exemplifies innovations that are truly exceptional, transformative and are having a positive impact on society, and who best meet the selection criteria.

The board of directors of the Canada Foundation for Innovation confirms the recommendations made by the Selection Committee. The list of award winners is then transmitted to the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General.

Language

Appel de candidatures

Processus de mise en candidature

Veuillez lire les considérations importantes avant de soumettre une candidature.

Les mises en candidature se font dans le cadre d’un réseau national d’organismes qui ont été désignés « partenaires parrains » par le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général. Chaque partenaire parrain doit nommer un coordonnateur officiel qui sera responsable de soumettre des candidatures. Seules les candidatures présentées par les partenaires parrains, par l’entremise de leurs coordonnateurs officiels, seront acceptées.

Alors que les partenaires parrains peuvent soumettre plus d’une candidature, on les encourage à être sélectifs dans leurs choix et à proposer des candidats qui répondent aux objectifs du programme tout en rencontrant tous les critères de selection.

Le coordonnateur officiel nommé par le partenaire parrain doit remplir le formulaire en ligne afin de soumettre une candidature.

Les renseignements suivants seront requis dans le formulaire de mise en candidature :

  • Nom, adresse, numéro de téléphone, nom du poste et année de naissance du candidat (ou du représentant officiel s’il s’agit de la candidature d’une équipe ou d’un organisme), de même que le nom, l’adresse et le numéro de téléphone de la personne-ressource de l’organisme parrain aux fins de correspondance;
  • Sommaire de la nature, de l’importance et de l’impact de l’innovation ou des activités novatrices du candidat (au plus 500 caractères, y compris les espaces);
  • Éléments justificatifs qui expliquent comment le candidat répond à chacun des quatre critères de sélection (au plus 2000 caractères, y compris les espaces, pour chacun des critères).

Considérations importantes

  • Le candidat doit être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent vivant. Les candidatures posthumes ne sont pas permises;
  • Le candidat considéré comme un jeune innovateur doit être âgé de 30 ans ou moins à la fin de l'année de la mise en candidature;
  • Le fait de ne pas bien répondre à tous les critères de sélection ou de ne pas présenter des éléments justificatifs affaiblira la candidature;
  • Étant donné que les comités d’évaluation et de sélection sont multidisciplinaires, les documents de candidature doivent être rédigés dans un langage simple;
  • Les prix servent à reconnaître des innovations actuelles ou récentes qui ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada, que ce soit dans le secteur public, le secteur privé ou celui des organismes sans but lucratif. Ils ne sont pas destinés à la reconnaissance de l’œuvre de toute une carrière ou d’innovations qui n’ont pas encore eu d’incidences concrètes;
  • Lorsqu’il remplit la section « signature », le partenaire parrain atteste avoir obtenu l'autorisation du candidat;
  • Le candidat ne peut être sélectionné qu’une seule fois par un des partenaires parrains;
  • Pour respecter la confidentialité des renseignements personnels, les candidatures ne sont pas rendues publiques.

Processus de sélection

Les Prix du Gouverneur Général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, équipes ou organismes dont les innovations

  • sont vraiment exceptionnelles;
  • suscitent une transformation;
  • ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Les prix servent à reconnaître des innovations actuelles ou récentes qui ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada, que ce soit dans le secteur public, le secteur privé ou celui des organismes sans but lucratif. Ils ne sont pas destinés à la reconnaissance de l’œuvre de toute une carrière ou d’innovations qui n’ont pas encore eu d’incidences concrètes.

Les candidats peuvent être rendus à n’importe quelle étape de leur carrière ou de leur vie. L’objectif est qu’au moins un de ces lauréats soit une jeune personne innovatrice de 30 ans ou moins qui, individuellement ou à titre de chef d’équipe ou d’une organisation, a mené des activités exceptionnelles, transformatrices et innovantes.

Critères de sélection

En plus de faire l’objet d’une évaluation visant à déterminer si leurs réalisations sont véritablement exceptionnelles et porteuses de transformations et ont une incidence positive sur la société, les candidats sont évalués en fonction des quatre critères de sélection suivants :

  • mesure dans laquelle le candidat (personne, équipe ou organisme) a fait preuve d’initiative et de leadership en tant qu’agent de changement pour se pencher sur un enjeu actuel qui le passionne;
  • utilisation créative des nouvelles connaissances ou des nouvelles technologies pour trouver des façons de relever les défis contemporains sur le plan social, économique ou culturel et régler des problèmes concrets;
  • preuve de la mise en œuvre réussie de ces solutions et du fait qu’elles ont eu une incidence positive au-delà de l’organisation ou de la communauté du candidat;
  • mesure dans laquelle le candidat, dans le cadre des activités menées, a fait preuve d’inspiration, de créativité, d’esprit de collaboration, de volonté de régler des problèmes et il est disposé à prendre des risques.

Sélection des lauréats

Toutes les candidatures admissibles sont reçues par la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation et sont assujetties à un processus de sélection en deux étapes fondé sur le mérite qui comporte un comité d’évaluation et un comité de sélection.

Les membres du comité d’évaluation sont recrutés en fonction de leur connaissance de l’innovation dans le secteur privé et public et dans le domaine social. Après avoir soigneusement examiné chaque candidature, le comité détermine dans quelle mesure les candidats répondent aux critères de sélection applicables. Les membres du comité identifient ensuite jusqu’à 20 principaux candidats parmi tous ceux qui ont été présentés par les partenaires parrains. Ces candidats sont alors recommandés au comité de sélection en tant que finalistes pour les Prix du gouverneur général pour l’innovation.

Le comité de sélection est composé de personnes distinguées qui ont été choisies en raison de leur expertise et de leur compréhension approfondie de l’écosystème de l’innovation. Les membres du comité examinent la liste des finalistes et sélectionne jusqu’à six lauréats dont le travail offre un bel exemple d’innovations véritablement exceptionnelles et porteuses de transformations qui ont une incidence positive sur la société et qui correspondent le mieux aux critères de sélection.

Le conseil d’administration de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation confirme les recommandations présentées par le comité de sélection. La liste des lauréats est ensuite transmise au Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général.