Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Mark Torchia and Richard Tyc

Mark Torchia and Richard Tyc
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Nominated by: Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

Biography | As the executive director of the Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning at the University of Manitoba, Dr. Mark G. Torchia works with his colleagues to support partnership, research and professional development. He thrives on collaborating for positive, lasting change—opportunities he has had in health care, education and business. Richard Tyc, P. Eng., is the vice-president of technology and advanced development at Monteris Medical Inc. A graduate of the University of Manitoba engineering program and the recipient of numerous awards and patents, he started his career in the life sciences sector with developments in prosthetics, orthopedics and pharmacy automation. Mr. Tyc teamed up with Dr. Torchia more than 15 years ago to help bring NeuroBlate technology to reality and clinical success.

Mark Torchia and Richard Tyc are the creators of the NeuroBlate System, a medical device that combines a novel laser probe system with real-time image guidance. Using magnetic resonance imaging and sophisticated software, the tool allows neurosurgeons in Canada and abroad to treat brain tumours and other intracranial targets in a minimally invasive way that also reduces post-operative care and health costs.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Mark Torchia et Richard Tyc

Mark Torchia et Richard Tyc
Winnipeg (Manitoba)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Fondation des Prix Ernest C. Manning

Biographie | En tant que directeur administratif du Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning à l’Université du Manitoba, le Dr Mark G.Torchia travaille avec ses collègues pour appuyer les partenariats, la recherche et le perfectionnement professionnel. Il est stimulé par la collaboration au changement positif et durable, ce qu’il a pu faire dans les domaines des soins de santé, de l’éducation et des affaires. Richard Tyc, P. Eng. est le vice-président des technologies et du développement avancé à Monteris Medical Inc. Un diplômé en génie de l’Université du Manitoba, récipiendaire de nombreux prix et détenteur de nombreux brevets, M. Tyc s’est associé à Dr Torchia il y a plus de 15 ans afin de faire de cette technologie une réalité et une réussite clinique.

Mark Torchia et Richard Tyc sont les créateurs du système NeuroBlate, un appareil médical qui allie un système de sonde laser novateur et le guidage par l’image en temps réel. Grâce à l’imagerie par résonance magnétique et un logiciel de pointe, l’outil permet à des neurochirurgiens au Canada et à l’étranger de traiter les tumeurs cérébrales et autres cibles intracrâniennes avec effraction minimale et réduit également les soins post-opératoires et les coûts liés aux soins de santé.