Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Kinova

Kinova
Boisbriand, Quebec

Nominated by: National Research Council Canada

Biography | Charles Deguire is the CEO and co-founder of Kinova, a company he launched while earning his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering at Montréal’s École de technologie supérieure. He is the visionary who propelled Kinova to the height of the modern robotics revolution. Thanks to his efforts, the JACO robotic arm is greatly improving the quality of life of individuals with reduced mobility in a way that no other technology has to date. Today, Mr. Deguire is steering Kinova into service robotics to allow industry leaders to explore how robotic arm technology can be applied in a wide range of fields.

Kinova designs and manufactures simple, safe and sexy robotics platforms and components for a broad range of applications. Co-founded by Charles Deguire, the company helps people push beyond their physical limitations and offers a more efficient and safer work environment in industrial settings. Kinova’s sleek, energy-efficient robotic arms are lightweight, quiet, unobtrusive and weather-resistant. Since its launch in 2010, the JACO arm has offered more autonomy, control and range of motion—as well as improved mental well-being—to Canadians with upper-body mobility restrictions.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Kinova

Kinova
Boisbriand (Québec)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Conseil national de recherches Canada

Biographie | Charles Deguire est directeur général et cofondateur de Kinova, une entreprise qu’il a développée durant son baccalauréat en génie électrique à l’École de technologie supérieure de Montréal. Il est le visionnaire qui a propulsé Kinova au sommet de la révolution moderne en robotique. Grâce à lui, le bras JACO a amélioré remarquablement et comme aucune autre technologie à ce jour la vie de gens à mobilité réduite. Aujourd’hui, M. Deguire mène Kinova vers la robotique de service afin de permettre à des professionnels exceptionnels de continuer à développer les bras robotiques dans divers domaines.

Kinova conçoit et fabrique des plateformes et des composantes robotiques à la fois simples, sécuritaires et sexy pour de nombreuses applications. Fondée en collaboration par Charles Deguire, la compagnie aide les gens à repousser leurs limitations physiques et accroît l’efficience et la sécurité de l’environnement de travail en milieu industriel. Les bras robotiques élégants et efficaces sur le plan énergétique de Kinova sont légers, silencieux, discrets et résistants aux intempéries. Depuis son lancement en 2010, le bras JACO procure plus d’autonomie, de contrôle et d’amplitude du mouvement aux Canadiens ayant une mobilité réduite du haut du corps et améliore également leur bien-être mental.