Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Breanne Everett

Breanne Everett
Calgary, Alberta

Nominated by: Mitacs

Biography | Dr. J. Breanne Everett is the CEO and co-founder of Orpyx, as well as a medical doctor and resident in plastic and reconstructive surgery at the University of Calgary. She was named one of Avenue Magazine’s Top 40 Under 40 in 2012, and the University of Calgary’s Graduate of the Last Decade in 2014. She is a Loran National Scholar, who serves as an active member of the Loran Alumni Community, and is a member of the scientific review board of the Pedorthic Research Association of Canada.

Breanne Everett co-founded Orpyx Medical Technologies to develop her idea for shoe insoles that prompts patients with diabetic foot conditions to move their feet to improve blood flow. This unique, wearable technology has improved users’ quality of life and reduced health care costs by decreasing the risks of sores, infection and amputation caused by diabetes-related nerve damage and poor circulation.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Breanne Everett

Breanne Everett
Calgary (Alberta)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Mitacs

Biographie | La Dre J. Breanne Everett est présidente-directrice générale et cofondatrice d’Orpyx, ainsi que médecin et résidente en chirurgie plastique et reconstructive à l’Université de Calgary. Elle a été nommée parmi les 40 personnalités les plus performantes de moins de 40 ans par Avenue Magazine, en 2012, ainsi que la diplômée de la dernière décennie de l’Université de Calgary en 2014. Une boursière nationale Loran, elle est active dans la communauté des anciens boursiers Loran et elle siège au conseil d’examen scientifique de la Pedorthic Research Association of Canada.

Breanne Everett a conjointement fondé Orpyx Medical Technologies pour mettre au point des semelles intérieures munies de capteurs, qui incitent les patients diabétiques ayant une affection du pied à bouger leurs pieds pour améliorer leur circulation sanguine. Cette technologie portable unique a amélioré la qualité de vie des utilisateurs et diminué le coût des soins de santé en réduisant les risques de lésion, d’infection et d’amputation dus aux atteintes nerveuses et à la mauvaise circulation causées par le diabète.