Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Jeff Dahn

Jeff Dahn
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Nominated by: Universities Canada

Biography | A fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Dr. Jeff Dahn is Canada’s most distinguished scientist in the field of advanced batteries. He has authored over 610 refereed journal papers and has had patents issued or filed for 65 inventions. Mr. Dahn worked at the National Research Council of Canada (1982-85) and at Moli Energy Limited (1985-90) before joining the Physics Department at Simon Fraser University in 1990. He was named the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council/3M Canada Industrial Research Chair at Dalhousie University in 1996, where he subsequently became a Canada Research Chair in 2003. In 2016, he will hold the NSERC/Tesla Canada Industrial Research Chair where he will focus on low-cost, long-lifetime Li-ion batteries.

Jeff Dahn and his dedicated team of researchers have pioneered the method of high-precision coulometry to rank the life span of Li-ion cells in a few weeks of testing. Not only has this development allowed researchers worldwide to speed up the R&D process and create a better and longer-lasting Li-ion cell, but it will also contribute to the switch of our energy sources from fossil fuels to renewable resources.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Jeff Dahn

Jeff Dahn
Halifax (Nouvelle Écosse)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Universités Canada

Biographie | Un membre de la Société royale du Canada, Jeff Dahn, Ph. D., est le scientifique canadien le plus distingué dans le domaine des piles d’accumulateurs. Il a écrit plus de 610 articles revus par des comités de lecture et a des brevets ou des demandes de brevet pour 65 inventions. M. Dahn a travaillé au Conseil national de recherches du Canada (1982-1985) et à Moli Energy Limited (1985-1990) avant de se joindre au Département de physique de l’Université Simon Fraser, en 1990. Il a été nommé titulaire de la chaire de recherche industrielle Conseil national de recherches du Canada/3M à l’Université Dalhousie en 1996, où il est ensuite devenu titulaire de la chaire de recherche du Canada en 2003. En 2016, il sera titulaire de la chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG/Tesla Canada, où il se concentrera sur les piles lithium-ion à faible coût et de longue durée.

Jeff Dahn et son équipe de chercheurs dévoués ont introduit la méthode de coulométrie de haute précision pour quantifier la durée de vie des cellules lithium-ion en quelques semaines de tests. Ces avancées ont non seulement permis aux chercheurs du monde entier d’accélérer le processus de recherche et développement et de créer des piles lithium-ion plus fiables et durables, mais elles contribueront aussi à faciliter le passage des sources d’énergie fossiles aux sources d’énergie renouvelables.