Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Paul Santerre

Paul Santerre
Toronto, Ontario

Nominated by: ERNEST C. MANNING AWARDS FOUNDATION

Biography | Professor Paul Santerre is a chemical engineer. In 2001, he co-founded Interface Biologics Inc., a Toronto-based health technologies company. He served as founding president until 2004, and currently sits as chief scientific officer and member of the board of directors. Mr. Santerre has been published widely in peer-reviewed journals and is a listed inventor on more than 60 patents in the area of polymers, biodegradation, surface modification and drug delivery. He has held several significant leadership portfolios at the University of Toronto, and is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Manning Award for Innovation/Entrepreneurship and a fellowship with the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences.

Paul Santerre invented Endexo technology, a unique compound of surface-modifying macro molecules that are added to plastics during the manufacturing process of medical devices. The special coating helps reduce clotting when the devices are used to treat patients, reducing the risk of adverse reactions and potentially deadly complications. Now being used in commercialized products in Canada, the U.S. and Europe, Endexo is helping to improve treatment outcomes for thousands of patients.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Paul Santerre

Paul Santerre
Toronto (Ontario)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Fondation des prix Ernest C. Manning

Biographie | Le professeur Paul Santerre est ingénieur chimiste. En 2001, il a cofondé Interface Biologics Inc., une société de technologies de la santé située à Toronto. Il en a été le président fondateur jusqu’en 2004. Il en est actuellement le directeur scientifique et il siège au conseil d’administration. De nombreux articles de M. Santerre ont été publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture. Il est l’inventeur inscrit dans plus de 60 brevets dans le domaine des polymères, de la biodégradation, de la modification de surface et de l’administration des médicaments. Il a été titulaire de plusieurs portefeuilles de leadership importants à l’Université de Toronto, et il a reçu de nombreuses récompenses, dont le prix d’innovation/d’entrepreneuriat Ernest C. Manning. En outre, il est le détenteur d’une bourse de recherche de l’Académie canadienne des sciences de la santé.

M. Paul Santerre a inventé la technologie Endexo, un composé unique de macromolécules modificatrices de surface ajouté durant le processus de fabrication d’instruments médicaux. Le revêtement spécial des instruments aide à réduire la formation de caillots chez les patients, diminuant le risque de réactions indésirables et les complications potentiellement mortelles. Utilisé dans des produits commercialisés au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Europe, Endexo contribue à améliorer l’efficacité du traitement pour des milliers de patients.