Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Audra Renyi

Audra Renyi
Montreal, Quebec

Nominated by: Grand Challenges Canada

Biography | Audra Renyi is the executive director of the non-profit World Wide Hearing and the founder of earAccess. She has worked as an investment banker on Wall Street dealing with private equity firms. Ms. Renyi has worked with Doctors Without Borders, in Chad; in Rwanda she served as the CFO of the One Acre Fund, and she worked as director of development at Canada World Youth. Ms. Renyi holds bachelor’s degrees in economics (Wharton School) and international studies from the University of Pennsylvania, and has completed an executive leadership program at Harvard Business School. She was named Wharton Top 40 under 40, recognized as the Young International Leader of Quebec by ARISTA, and named a Rising Talent by the Women’s Forum.

Audra Renyi co-founded World Wide Hearing (WWH) Foundation, which uses affordable technology, market incentives and rapid training to help underprivileged people affected by hearing loss. Ms. Renyi is also the founder and CEO of earAccess, a for-profit social enterprise that aims to cut the price of hearing aids by 75 per cent. earAccess uses innovative distribution models to ensure hearing aids and related services are available to those who need them the most.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Audra Renyi

Audra Renyi
Montréal (Québec)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Grands Défis Canada

Biographie | Audra Renyi est la directrice générale de l’organisation sans but lucratif World Wide Hearing et la fondatrice d’Accès auditif mondial. Elle a travaillé à Wall Street en tant que preneuse ferme traitant avec des sociétés de capital-investissement. Mme Renyi a travaillé chez Médecins sans frontières, au Tchad; au Rwanda, elle a été directrice financière de One Acre Fund, et elle a été directrice du développement à Jeunesse Canada Monde. Mme Renyi est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en économie (Wharton School) et d’un baccalauréat en études internationales de l’Université de Pennsylvanie. En outre, elle a suivi un programme de leadership pour les cadres à la Harvard Business School. Elle a été nommée au Palmarès 40 des moins de 40 ans de la Wharton School, reconnue comme Jeune leader international du Québec par ARISTA, et nommée « talent émergent » par le Women’s Forum.

Audra Renyi est la cofondatrice de la fondation World Wide Hearing (WWH), qui utilise des technologies abordables, des incitatifs commerciaux et une formation rapide pour aider les personnes démunies qui ont des problèmes auditifs. Mme Renyi est aussi la fondatrice et première dirigeante d'Accès auditif mondial Inc., une entreprise sociale à but lucratif qui cherche à réduire le prix des appareils auditifs de 75 pour cent. Accès auditif mondial Inc. utilise des modèles de distribution novateurs pour procurer des appareils auditifs et des services connexes à ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.