Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Bonnie Mallard

Bonnie Mallard
Guelph, Ontario

Nominated by: Universities Canada

Biography | Dr. Bonnie Mallard is currently a professor of immunogenetics in the Department of Pathobiology, Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph. Dr. Mallard is a member of the Centre of Genetic Improvement of Livestock (CGIL), at the university. She has been recognized at the national and international levels for her work on the High Immune Response Technology (HIR) for improving the health of dairy cattle. In the last few years, she has focused on extending this technology for use in dairy sires and in developing a genomics test for HIR in order to broaden its application. Dr. Mallard has been published extensively, with over 100 full-length articles in referred journals, and has presented hundreds of abstracts and oral presentations at scientific meetings.

Bonnie Mallard created the High Immune Response Technology (HIR), which manages livestock health through genetic identification. This sustainable and efficient approach was designed to meet consumer expectations for healthy, non-GMO products while maintaining profitability and addressing global food demands.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Bonnie Mallard

Bonnie Mallard
Guelph (Ontario)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Universités Canada

Biographie | La Dre Bonnie Mallard est professeure d’immunogénétique au Département de pathobiologie du Collège de médecine vétérinaire de l’Ontario, à l’Université de Guelph. Elle est membre du Centre of Genetic Improvement of Livestock (CGIL) de l’Université. Elle est reconnue à l’échelle nationale et internationale pour son apport à la technologie de haute réponse immunitaire (HRI), qui vise à améliorer la santé des bovins laitiers. Au cours des dernières années, elle s’est employée à appliquer la technologie aux géniteurs laitiers et à développer un test génomique pour la HRI afin d’en élargir l’application. La Dre Mallard a publié de nombreux écrits, y compris plus de 100 articles complets dans des revues avec comité de lecture, et a présenté des centaines de résumés et de présentations orales à des réunions scientifiques.

Bonnie Mallard a créé la technologie de haute réponse immunitaire (HRI), qui gère la santé du bétail grâce à l’identification génétique. Cette approche durable et efficace a été conçue pour offrir aux consommateurs les produits sains et sans OGM qu’ils exigent, tout en assurant la rentabilité et en répondant à la demande alimentaire mondiale.