Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Patrick McGrath

Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Patrick McGrath
Halifax, Nova Scotia

Nominated by: Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

Biography | Dr. Lingley-Pottie is the president and CEO of the Halifax-based Strongest Families Institute, as well as an assistant professor of psychiatry at Dalhousie University and a scientist at the IWK Health Centre. With 29 years of pediatric nursing experience and research expertise to her credit, she has spent the past 17 years focusing on psychological research, specifically harnessing the advantages of technology to deliver accessible and timely distance evidence-based interventions to children and families. Dr. Patrick McGrath is the Chair of the Strongest Families Institute board of directors, vice-president of Research, Innovation and Knowledge Translation at the IWK Health Centre and Nova Scotia Health Authority. He created the Translating Research into Care grants, a partnership among scientists, administrators, patients and foundations, and founded BIOTIC, a translational imaging research facility. He is a professor of science, pediatrics, community health and epidemiology and psychiatry at Dalhousie University. Dr. McGrath was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2002. Dr. Lingley-Pottie and Dr. McGrath are co-recipients of the 2013 Ernest C. Manning Foundation Principal Award for Social Innovation.

Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Patrick McGrath are the creators of the Strongest Families Institute, a non-profit organization that delivers evidence-based programs to children, youth and families through a unique distance-delivery system. Using proprietary software technology, trained coaches are able to connect with users by phone or via the Internet, thus allowing families greater flexibility when accessing services. Programs address common mental health issues and other problems impacting health and well-being.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Patricia Lingley-Pottie et Patrick McGrath

Patricia Lingley-Pottie et Patrick McGrath
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : FONDATION DES PRIX ERNEST C. MANNING

Biographie | Patricia Lingley-Pottie est présidente-directrice générale du Strongest Families Institute d’Halifax, en plus d’être professeure adjointe en psychiatrie à l’Université Dalhousie et chercheuse au Centre de soins de santé IWK. Comptant 29 années d’expérience en soins infirmiers pédiatriques et en recherche, elle a consacré les 17 dernières années à la recherche en psychologie, s’intéressant surtout aux avantages de la technologie dans l’offre accessible et rapide, aux enfants et aux familles, d’interventions à distance reposant sur des données probantes. Patrick McGrath est président du Conseil d’administration du Strongest Families Institute, vice-président à la recherche, à l’innovation et à l’application des connaissances au Centre de soins de santé IWK et vice-président de la Régie de la santé de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a créé les subventions pour l’application de la recherche aux soins, un partenariat regroupant des scientifiques cliniciens, des administrateurs, des patients et des fondations, et a mis sur pied BIOTIC, un centre de recherche transactionnelle appliquée en imagerie numérique. M. McGrath enseigne la science, la pédiatrie, la santé communautaire, l’épidémiologie et la psychiatrie à l’Université Dalhousie. En 2002, il a été nommé Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Patricia Lingley-Pottie et Patrick McGrath ont été colauréats en 2013 du Prix principal de la Fondation des Prix Ernest C. Manning au chapitre de l’innovation sociale.administratif. En 2002, il a été nommé Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Patricia Lingley-Pottie et Patrick McGrath ont été colauréats en 2013 du Prix principal de la Fondation des Prix Ernest C. Manning au chapitre de l’innovation sociale.

Patricia Lingley-Pottie et Patrick McGrath ont créé le Strongest Families Institute, un organisme sans but lucratif qui dispense des programmes fondés sur des données probantes à des enfants, des jeunes et des familles par l’entremise d’un système unique de prestation à distance. Des conseillers formés utilisent des logiciels privés pour entrer en contact avec les utilisateurs, par téléphone ou Internet, donnant ainsi plus de souplesse aux familles qui ont besoin de services. Les programmes traitent de santé mentale et d’autres problèmes communs qui ont des répercussions sur la santé et le bien-être.