Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Marie-Odile Junker

Marie-Odile Junker
Ottawa, Ontario

Nominated by: the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences

Biography | Dr. Marie-Odile Junker is active in Indigenous language documentation, maintenance, and revitalization. She uses a participatory-action research framework to work with communities and individuals interested in saving their language and seeing it thrive in the 21st century. She has developed several websites and online dictionaries for languages of the Algonquian family (Cree, Innu, Atikamekw). She is leading the co-creation of the Algonquian Linguistic Atlas: www.atlas-ling.ca, a large collaborative project that is building a digital infrastructure for Algonquian dictionaries and other resources.

Marie-Odile Junker has been a pioneer with respect to endangered Aboriginal languages in Canada, exploring how information and communication technologies can be used to preserve these languages. She has also brought together numerous speaker communities by using a participatory-action research framework that has resulted in the creation of several collaborative websites, including the Algonquian Linguistic Atlas and its online dictionaries.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Marie-Odile Junker

Marie-Odile Junker
Ottawa (Ontario)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : LA FÉDÉRATION DES SCIENCES HUMAINES

Biographie | Marie-Odile Junker se consacre à la documentation, au maintien et à la revitalisation des langues autochtones au moyen des technologies de l'information et de la communication. Dans un cadre de recherches participatives, elle travaille avec les communautés et les individus intéressés à préserver leur langue et à les faire prospérer au 21e siècle. Elle a développé plusieurs sites Web et dictionnaires en ligne pour les langues de la famille algonquienne (cri, innu, atikamekw). Elle dirige la cocréation de l'Atlas linguistique algonquien (www.atlas-ling.ca), un important projet collaboratif de développement d'une infrastructure numérique commune aux dictionnaires et autres ressources des langues algonquiennes.

Marie-Odile Junker a innové dans le domaine des langues autochtones menacées de disparition au Canada. Elle a exploré comment les technologies de l’information et de la communication peuvent aider à la préservation de ces langues. Elle a réussi à rallier de nombreuses communautés de locuteurs en adoptant une approche fondée sur l’action et la recherche participative, qui a conduit à la création de plusieurs sites Web collaboratifs, dont l’atlas linguistique des langues algonquiennes et ses dictionnaires en ligne.