Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

David Brown

David Brown
Island View, New Brunswick

Nominated by: Futurpreneur Canada

Biography | David Brown is a biotechnology entrepreneur and a passionate advocate for youth entrepreneurship in Canada’s biotechnology sector. Mr. Brown serves as the co-founder and COO of Chinova Bioworks and is the founder of Mycodev Group. In 2013, he and his team from the University of Alberta won MIT’s iGEM competition with an innovation for a genetically engineered shikimic acid pathway in bacteria. Mr. Brown then founded Mycodev Group, a biotechnology company that produces life-saving pharmaceutical ingredients used in liquid biopsy and medical therapeutics. He received his first patent and several innovation awards for the Group’s work, as well as for his efforts in developing biopolymer-based antimicrobials.

David Brown founded MyCodev Group in order to resolve a lack of supply of chitosan, a valuable pharmaceutical ingredient that is essential in a wide variety of medical devices and drugs. Mr. Brown’s innovative technology produces chitosan directly from a fungal fermentation, a process that uses very little energy or chemicals. Mycodev Group is only four years old and is selling its chitosan to major pharmaceutical and medical device companies around the world.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

David Brown

David Brown
Island View (Nouveau-Brunswick)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Futurpreneur Canada

Biographie | David Brown est un entrepreneur en biotechnologie et un ardent défenseur de l’entrepreneuriat jeunesse dans le secteur de la biotechnologie au Canada. M. Brown est cofondateur et chef de l’exploitation de Chinova Bioworks et est également le fondateur de Mycodev Group. En 2013, lui et son équipe de l’Université de l’Alberta ont remporté le concours de l’iGEM du MIT grâce à une innovation concernant une voie de l’acide shikimique génétiquement modifiée dans les bactéries. M. Brown a ensuite fondé Mycodev Group, une société de biotechnologie qui produit des ingrédients pharmaceutiques d’importance vitale utilisés dans les biopsies liquides et la thérapeutique médicale. Il a obtenu son premier brevet et plusieurs prix d’innovation pour les travaux de Mycodev Group, et pour le travail qu’il a accompli afin de mettre au point des antimicrobiens à base de biopolymères.

David Brown a fondé MyCodev Group afin de remédier aux problèmes d’approvisionnement en chitosane, un ingrédient pharmaceutique précieux et essentiel à la fabrication d’une gamme étendue de médicaments et d’instruments médicaux. La technologie innovatrice de M. Brown permet d’obtenir le chitosane par fermentation fongique, un procédé qui nécessite peu d’énergie et de produits chimiques. Lancé il y a à peine quatre ans, Mycodev Group vend son chitosane à d’importantes entreprises de produits pharmaceutiques et d’appareils médicaux dans le monde entier.