Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Robert Burrell

Robert Burrell
Edmonton, Alberta

Nominated by: Universities Canada

Biography | Dr. Robert E. Burrell is currently a Canada Research Chair in Nanostructured Biomaterials, the Sorensen Chair in the Commercialization of Biomedical Technology, and a professor and chair of biomedical engineering in the faculties of engineering and medicine & dentistry at the University of Alberta. He is one of the world’s leading experts on the use of advanced metallic films for therapeutic applications. He is a prolific inventor with over 300 patents and patent applications worldwide, including Acticoat dressings, the world’s first commercial therapeutic application of nanotechnology. He has received many awards recognizing his work on nanostructured materials in medicine.

Robert Burrell’s Acticoat, the world’s first therapeutic medical application of nanotechnology, is the first burn dressing to simultaneously kill bacteria and decrease inflammation. This revolutionized approach to wound care increases healing rates, reduces the need for skin grafts and cuts down on long-term scar management issues. With his innovation, Dr. Burrell has saved thousands of lives and limbs around the world.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Robert Burrell

Robert Burrell
Edmonton (Alberta)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Universités Canada

Biographie | Robert E. Burrell, Ph.D. est titulaire d’une chaire de recherche du Canada sur les biomatériaux nanostructurés, chaire Sorensen en commercialisation des technologies biomédicales, et professeur et titulaire d’une chaire en génie biomédical aux facultés de génie ainsi que de médecine et dentisterie de l’Université de l’Alberta. Il est une sommité mondiale dans l’utilisation des films métalliques perfectionnés aux fins d’applications thérapeutiques. Un inventeur prolifique, il a plus de 300 brevets et demandes de brevet à son actif à l’échelle mondiale, dont les pansements Acticoat, la toute première application commerciale de la nanotechnologie à des fins thérapeutiques au monde. Il a reçu de nombreux prix pour son travail sur les matériaux nanostructurés en médecine.

Le pansement Acticoat développé par Robert Burrell est le premier pansement pour brûlures capable de tuer simultanément les bactéries et de réduire l’inflammation. Cette approche révolutionnaire du traitement des plaies augmente le taux de guérison, diminue le recours à des greffes de peau et réduit les problèmes de traitement des cicatrices à long terme. Grâce à son innovation, M. Burrell a sauvé des milliers de vies et de membres dans le monde entier.