Language

Winners & Selection committee

Winners

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards are given to individuals, teams and/or organizations whose innovations are truly exceptional, transformative, and positive in their impact on quality of life in Canada.

Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt
Espanola, Ontario

Nominated by: Canada Council for the Arts

Biography | Christi Belcourt is a Métis visual artist with a deep respect for the traditions and knowledge of her people. The majority of her art explores and celebrates the beauty of the natural world. Her work has been commissioned by the Gabriel Dumont Institute, the Nature Conservancy of Canada, the Centre for Traditional Knowledge / Museum of Nature, and the Indian and Inuit Art Collection, and is found in the permanent collections of the Thunder Bay Art Gallery and the First People’s Hall of the Canadian Museum of History. Ms. Belcourt is a past recipient of awards from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, the Chalmers Family Fund and the Métis Nation of Ontario.

Christi Belcourt uses cutting-edge applied arts and design and new technologies in an effort to raise awareness and to create momentum toward innovative societal change while respecting traditional protocols and ancestral cultural traditions. Her initiatives relate to a wide range of social issues and she champions forward-looking collaborations that are models of respectful partnerships and principled adaptation of indigenous cultural influence.

Language

Gagnants et comité de sélection

Gagnants

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation sont remis à des personnes, des équipes ou des organismes dont les innovations sont vraiment exceptionnelles, suscitent une transformation et ont une incidence positive sur la qualité de vie au Canada.

Christi Belcourt

Christi Belcourt
Espanola (Ontario)

CANDIDATURE PROPOSÉE PAR : Conseil des arts du Canada

Biographie | Christi Belcourt est une artiste métisse en arts visuels qui respecte profondément les traditions et le savoir de son peuple. La grande majorité de son art explore et célèbre la beauté du monde naturel. Des travaux lui ont été commandés par le Gabriel Dumont Institute, Conservation de la nature Canada, le Centre des connaissances traditionnelles / Musée canadien de la nature et la collection d’art indien et inuit, et certaines de ses œuvres se retrouvent dans les collections permanentes de la Thunder Bay Art Gallery et la salle des Premiers Peuples du Musée canadien de l’histoire. Mme Belcourt a reçu des prix du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, du Fonds de la famille Chalmers et de la Nation métisse de l’Ontario.

Christi Belcourt utilise les arts appliqués et une esthétique de pointe ainsi que les nouvelles technologies pour accroître la sensibilisation et donner une impulsion au changement sociétal novateur, tout en respectant les protocoles traditionnels et les traditions culturelles ancestrales. Elle a lancé des initiatives liées à divers enjeux sociaux et encourage les collaborations porteuses d’avenir qui favorisent les partenariats respectueux et l’intégration raisonnée de l’influence de la culture autochtone.