Language

About

Innovation is one of the primary driving forces behind Canada’s prosperity, standard of living and quality of life. And while Canadians are some of the world’s most accomplished innovators, we seldom recognize ourselves as such or celebrate our outstanding contributions to our society and to humanity as a whole.

In today’s competitive and interconnected world, increasing productivity through the creation of new products and services, improving public sector performance, and building an inclusive, compassionate society will be the keys to Canada’s success as a caring, efficient and prosperous nation. The purpose, therefore, of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards is to inspire Canadians to embrace innovation and to emulate innovative, entrepreneurial risk-takers who have developed new or better ways of creating value and who are having a meaningful impact on our quality of life. As innovation and an entrepreneurial spirit are fundamentally important to all Canadians and can have a transformative, positive impact—regardless of whether it is in the private, public or not-for-profit realms—the awards encompass all sectors of Canadian society.

Objectives of the Governor General’s Innovation Awards:

  • Celebrate excellence in innovation across all sectors of Canadian society
  • Inspire Canadians, particularly Canadian youth, to be entrepreneurial innovators
  • Foster an active culture of innovation that has a meaningful impact on our lives

Each year, up to six award winners will be identified through a two-stage, merit-based selection process. This process is managed by the Canada Foundation for Innovation. Our aim is to have at least one young innovator among the winners who is 30 years of age or younger and who, individually or as leader of a team and/or organization, has been undertaking exceptional transformative and innovative activities.

The program operates on an annual cycle, with an awards ceremony held each spring. The inaugural awards ceremony was held in May 2016.

The Governor General’s Innovation Awards Advisory Committee, made up of highly accomplished Canadians from all sectors, provides oversight and strategic direction for the program.

The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General oversees the execution of all aspects of the program.

In order to meet the objectives of inspiring Canadians and fostering a culture of entrepreneurial innovation, the awards program partners participate in communications and outreach activities. These activities will help build national awareness of the goals of the program and foster a culture of innovation in the country by celebrating the accomplishments of awards winners as broadly as possible. The Office of the Secretary to the Governor General oversees and coordinates the communications and outreach activities of core partner organizations.

Logo

For high-resolution images of the Innovation Awards logo, please download the following file: media.zip

Language

À propos

L’innovation est l’une des principales forces motrices de la prospérité, du niveau de vie et de la qualité de vie au Canada. Même si les Canadiens comptent parmi les innovateurs les plus accomplis au monde, nous sommes peu enclins à nous voir ainsi, et encore moins à célébrer notre contribution exceptionnelle à la société et à l’humanité dans son ensemble.

Dans le monde interconnecté et concurrentiel d’aujourd’hui, il est crucial d’accroître la productivité par la création de nouveaux produits et services, d’améliorer le rendement du secteur public et de bâtir une société inclusive et compatissante pour que le Canada demeure une nation bienveillante, efficace et prospère. Le but des Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation est donc d’inspirer les Canadiens à s’ouvrir à l’innovation et à imiter les personnes novatrices et entrepreneuriales qui prennent des risques, qui trouvent de nouvelles ou de meilleures façons de créer de la valeur et qui ont une véritable incidence sur notre qualité de vie. Comme le sens de l’innovation et l’esprit d’entreprise sont des qualités fondamentales importantes pour tous les Canadiens et peuvent avoir une incidence positive et porteuse de transformations à la fois dans le secteur public, le secteur privé ou celui des organismes sans but lucratif, les prix englobent tous les secteurs de la société canadienne.

Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation visent à :

  • célébrer l’excellence en innovation dans tous les secteurs de la société canadienne;
  • inspirer les Canadiens, surtout les jeunes Canadiens, à être des innovateurs entrepreneurs;
  • favoriser une culture d’innovation active qui a des retombées importantes sur nos vies.

Chaque année, jusqu’à six lauréats de prix seront identifiés dans le cadre d’un processus de sélection en deux étapes fondé sur le mérite. Ce processus est géré par la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation. Nous cherchons à faire en sorte qu’au moins un de ces lauréats soit une jeune personne innovatrice de 30 ans ou moins qui, individuellement ou à titre de chef d’équipe et/ou d’une organisation, a mené des activités exceptionnelles, transformatrices ou innovantes.

Le programme sera exécuté selon un cycle annuel et une cérémonie de remise de prix aura lieu au printemps. La toute première cérémonie de remise de prix a eu lieu en 2016.

Le Comité consultatif des Prix du Gouverneur général pour l’innovation, composé de Canadiens très accomplis de tous les secteurs, voit à l’encadrement et à l’orientation stratégique du programme.

Le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général supervise l’exécution de tous les aspects du programme.

Pour atteindre ses objectifs d’inspirer les Canadiens et de favoriser une culture de l’innovation entrepreneuriale, les partenaires du programme des Prix pour l’innovation s’engagent à effectuer des activités de communication et de sensibilisation. Ces activités aideront à mieux faire connaître les objectifs du programme à l’échelle nationale et à faciliter l’instauration d’une culture de l’innovation au pays, en célébrant le plus largement possible les réalisations des lauréats. Le Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général supervise et coordonne les activités de communication et de sensibilisation des principaux organismes partenaires.

Logo

Pour obtenir des images en haute résolution du logo des Prix pour l’innovation, veuillez télécharger le fichier suivant : media.zip